Have you ever visited somewhere for the first time and had the overwhelming feeling that you’d been there before?

This happened to me yesterday. I’ve never been to Scotland before, I’ve never considered that I had any connection with Scotland, I don’t even have any long lost blood ties with the place. And yet when I stood inside a half collapsed ring of fairly average looking stones, something in me broke open. I’m a writer, but I have nothing in me to describe what I felt. The closet I can come is that it was like a reunion or a meeting. I had turned up for an appointment that I didn’t even know I had to keep.

And when I went to leave, I couldn’t. And that made no sense either. I didn’t want to go back to that other life. Each time I pulled myself together and tried again to leave, there was just a profound sense of loss. Even now, 20 hours on, I have a longing to go back there that won’t shift and if I’m honest, that scares me a little.

As I get older, it seems the world just keeps on getting stranger.

If there are any explanations out there, or any similar experiences, I’d love to hear them. I have nothing to explain it other than some vague fancy that we may have all been here many times.

7 thoughts on “Reunion

  1. Wow. That’s a very intense déja vu experience. I don’t recall anything comparable, although I do tend to rationalize and brush away. I have, however, had one experience of dreaming about someone’s passing while far away in a different country and finding out the next day that

    Like

  2. You left me hanging there for a moment. It was like reading one of your stories 😃
    And they had actually died like in your dream? That’s a strange thing, and kind of messes with your head a bit. Maybe we don’t need to understand, just appreciate that the world is a bizarre place.

    Like

  3. Your phrase about the world getting stranger (as one grows older) resonates with me. Of late this sense grows stronger, and also a complementary feeling to finally let loose into that strangeness..to stop holding back (for fear of being carted off, haha), especially now that the children are grown and I/we can spare their blushes. To go towards the strangeness whole-heartedly, eyes open. Any conception of enlightenment, revelation, nirvana that we have ever read of or heard of must, by the very limited notion of words, be tattered. Imagine if it is so strange as to be utterly inexplicable. Let’s move more and ever more willingly towards the strange so that the indescribable unfolding of the Light will not scare us off.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oooooo, I like that idea of moving towards the strange so that the unfolding of the light isn’t frightening. I had a very ‘strange’ encounter with a yew tree a few days after writing this post too. After, I felt sick and disoriented, so I just went and stood in a cold river until I felt better. I love that the chase in me is subsiding as I get older. What a relief.

    Like

Leave a Reply

